a journey from the mailbox to a muffin

Invitations rarely arrive in the mail. Usually, a quick text, an email or a phone call is sufficient to get the event details out and the same works for the RSVP. There seem to be two occasions for an invitation showing up in the mail box. The first is for a wedding. The second is for a child’s birthday party.

A little while back I opened my mailbox to find the coveted personalized envelope waiting for me to open the hand-licked seal and discover the non-commercial contents. Inside was also a delight: a little friend of mine had invited me to his “I am turning 2” birthday bash.

This invite inspired me to do two things: find a present and think about sending invitations in the mail for my next gathering. It kind of follows, that if I love getting mail that does not have “you are pre-approved” stamped in a catchy color on it, my friends probably do too. While our gatherings are usually more impromptu affairs, I am think think thinking about how to share this post marked invitation business for a little more mailbox joy in the world.

But that will have to wait, back to the important business of the birthday boy and his present. He is a little lover of life this kid, he loves all sorts of wonderful things: yellow school buses, John Deere tractors, Elmo, banana bread and running. He loves to run. He runs to and from everything. Two is such an awesome age for this energy packed kid, he is going to get into absolutely everything. Fun two year old times.

Usually, I am a pretty darn solid shopper: I come up with clever gift ideas, find unique treasures in boutiques and have a small love affair with all things Etsy. But, kids… I am not hip to what kids like, so I struggle with this one. There are just so many toys and trinkets out there.

So, I admitted my cool kid present defeat and opted for a gift that would likely make me a little uncool in his two-year old toy loving eyes, but make his mom’s eyes light up with a little “these are so cute” sparkle. I went for a gift that would help him run to all the cool toys that everyone else at his birthday party gave him… Tiny Toms. They really are ‘so cute’.

Sweet adult shoes in mini? Love it.

And his Mom, loved them. Here is a woman who is hip to the cool kid stuff. His birthday party was awesome: a homemade John Deere tractor cake, a bouncy Elmo castle, hot dogs for the kids, and even these little potato things with happy faces in them. Kid heaven.

After all that work and running around after her two year old I thought she might need a decompressing coffee and an afternoon snack… turns out what she really needed was a beer. But, I brought muffins as an after party parent delight. I figure muffins can go with beer if that’s more your style.

I did not actually plan for the wrapping paper to match the muffin makings... But, admittedly, I like that it did

Mmmmufifins

Blueberry Muffins
Makes about 15 medium muffins

8 Tbsp melted and cooled butter
2 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
finely grated zest of one lemon
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar (take out a tbsp and reserve for sprinkling on the tops)
2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
2 cups fresh blueberries

Pre-heat the oven to 375F. Line muffin tins with about 15 papers.
Whisk the butter, eggs, milk and lemon zest in one bowl. In another, combine flour, sugar (minus the tbsp), baking powder and salt. Stir the wet into the dry ingredients just enough to combine and then fold the berries into the mixture. Divide among the muffin cups and sprinkle with the left over sugar. Bake until a toothpick comes out clean and the muffins are a golden shade – about 25-30 minutes. I cooked mine for 27 min.

Enjoy xo

This entry was posted in Blueberry, Lemon, Muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a journey from the mailbox to a muffin

  1. jacki says:

    duffie, duffie, duffie…I love this

    This is a bluberry bright day for me now

  2. Party Mama! says:

    Love that we could be inspiration for one of your posts. It’s true that we are very happy with the Toms and that beer and blueberry muffins are indeed a good combination (especially for a mama bear who had no time at the party to eat!). Good to read your writing again…

    • duffiebyday says:

      It is great to be writing something again… and a blog seems manageable rather than overwhelming. I think you and your cute wee ones may the inspiration for more than one post…

  3. Janet Duffield says:

    I love blueberry muffins. I will definitely try this recipe; it calls for double the blueberries that mine does… yippee!

    speaking of ‘kid birthday parties’; remember our ‘events of the season’?

    Mom

Leave a Reply

