no red beans in my crumble please

My husband was cooking up an Indian feast for my family and I wanted to finish it off with a fitting and delightful dessert. However, I do  not like eastern desserts. I mean, I know they are beautiful creations and deserve respect but I don’t like rice or beans in my sweet things. In Taiwan, I bought a little jar of ice cream that appeared to be raspberry or strawberry in flavour… I was craving something familiar, something like home. This was not it. Rather than the pleasure of frozen summer berry cream melting in my mouth, it was horrible red bean paste assaulting my tongue. Since taking a big dripping bite into that wrongly spiked ice cream I cannot stand the stuff. I know it is my own fault since I bought it and not the fault of the poor red bean but I still hold a grudge. That said, I appreciate that red bean is more of an Asian dessert than an Indian one but still, I prefer my sweets to be French or Italian or Hershey’s in nature.

I do not want people thinking I have a hate on for the ethnic eats, quite to the contrary. I love prawns in coconut masala and pork with fig and spinach stew, which is what was on the menu that night. I just wanted to finish it off with something that hinted at Indian minus the rice and fennel… thus, cardamom: enter stage left please.

Chai tea, the perfect Indian beverage… all full to the brim with cardamom pods. I would not attempt to bust out a chai as I am an amateur baker, not my friend Rehana’s mama, who makes one mean chai. So, I opted to add cardamom to my dessert and hope it felt Indian in nature.

Fruit is pretty all by itself...

... but the crumble really is the star here

Miss Helene, at my beloved Tartelette, loves cardamom and on her site I found the perfect fall recipe to adapt for my purposes.

Plum Peach Cardamom Crumbles
Adapted from Tartelette

The fruit:
6 plums, pitted and diced
1 peach, pitted and diced
1/4 cup sugar
zest of a lemon
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
2 Tbsp corn starch

Preheat the oven to 350F.
Mix it all up in a bowl. Then divide the fruit up into 6 ramekins and place these on a baking sheet to await the good bit….

The crumble:
6 Tbsp cold butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup flour
1 tsp cardamom
a handful of almonds

Place all these ingredients in a small food processor and pulse until coarsely crumbled. Divide crumble among 6 dishes.
Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the topping to browned and the centre is all gooey.

If you happen to be looking for gluten-free, simply replace the regular flour with rice flour.

All baked and delicious

Enjoy xo

This entry was posted in Crumble, Lemon, Peach, Plum, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to no red beans in my crumble please

  1. Mom says:

    And it was delicious!

    Yummy, healthy and easy. A recipe’ definitely worth trying.

  2. Bff says:

    Nice one. I think I would prefer the prawns myself but would have happily tried this dessert. Anytime you need a guest for Indian count me in!

  3. Love your blog! These look delicious, I love stone fruits and can’t wait until summer!

Leave a Reply

