I heart goop and crumble

“Gwyneth Paltrow needs to get over herself.” This was the MSN headline the other day. I have two things to say about this: one, don’t the writers over at MSN have better things to be writing about and two, I heartily do not agree. She definitely does not need to get over herself. I adore her. I get her weekly ‘goop‘ newsletter in my inbox and I hang onto it until just the right moment in my day. Then I sit down and enjoy. Sure, lots of the content is way beyond the reaches of my pocketbook and if I had as many beauty regimens as she recommends I would have no time for baking, but she likes to cook and she likes to travel and she likes pretty things and she signs all of her emails “love, gp” as though we are dear friends. I like all of these things.

I took her advice on Tracy Anderson, bought the DVDs and love my work out and thanks to it, may even wear shorts into public…. may, but still. I went to Gjelina in Los Angeles on her recommendation and had the best grilled trout with truffled potatoes of my life. I cooked her ginger tuna burgers and they were a smash hit at a BBQ this summer. (Yes, I also own her cookbook… I may have bought it the week it went on sale). It is a jammed full of good simple recipes that rock.

So, I love the gp. I think she does so many things well and I love that she shares them with me. This said, what she does not do so well is bake. She sort of even admits this in her cookbook. She tries to make baked sweets healthy. She’s always taking out the sugar and the milk and replacing them with healthy options like soy and agave. These are good things, but sometimes a girl just wants a little sugar. This said, she does have a couple full sugar recipes that I have yet to try…

Anyway, my friend whipped up gp’s ‘spiced apple crumb muffins’ and they were a total vegan-sugar-free-bust. I was inspired by this glue-like disaster to sort out a muffin recipe that was a little healthier but steered clear of the Play-Doh department. So, here is what I came up with. Today I sat down to read my goop with one of these tasty little treats and enjoyed both.

come on gp, just look at that crumbly top. No sugar = no crumble and it is the best part

Apple Crumble Muffins
Makes about 17 muffins

Muffins
1 cup white flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
healthy pinch of salt
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 eggs
3/4 cup 1% milk
1/4 cup melted butter
4 small apples peeled, cored and diced (or 2 large would probably be perfect as well)

Preheat the oven to 400F. Line a muffin tray with paper liners.
Mix the dry ingredients in one large bowl. Mix the wet in another bowl. Add the wet to the dry and mix by hand until just combined. Add the diced apples and mix to combine. Divide batter into muffins cups, fill about 2/3 full.

Crumble
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup oats
5 Tbsp cold butter

Place all the ingredients in a food processor and buzz until crumble-like.
Cover each muffin with the crumble.

Bake for 20-25 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.

Enjoy
xo

This entry was posted in Apple, Crumble, Muffins, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I heart goop and crumble

  1. Ha! I too heart gp. I got your back.

  2. I’m with you. The irrational hatred is so annoying.

Leave a Reply

