Ice Cream Sandwiches for the first day of summer

I love summer. And it officially arrived today. Happy Summer Solstice Day.

Summer means nights that glow until well past bedtime, dinners on the front porch, evening bike rides, corn on the cob sold from the back of a truck, flowers spilling out of hanging pots, patio pints, whimsical sundresses, over-sized sunglasses, sun-beams instead of alarm clocks, iced tea, marshmallows oozing into s’mores, squinting to read a book on the porch…

I need to stop for a second, I cannot concentrate.

A man just walked by in a trapper outfit. He looked so authentic: beard, suede pants, the long-sleeved shirt with fringe and the quintessential fur hat complete with a striped tail. He didn’t appear to be dressed up for any other purpose than simply to go for a morning walk in a furry pool of sweat. I actually hope that is the case. I love people who proudly fly their freak-flags. (I am not trying to be mean with the word freak, but rather I use it to celebrate all the people who make life uniquely their very own and choose to show it off).

Ok, back to summer love…  picking blueberries, freshly cut grass, a canoe slicing through a perfectly calm lake, long tanned legs in shorts, babies in sun hats, the smell of lilacs, flip-flops, driving with the window down, napping the afternoon sun, carrots so fresh they still have specks of dirt on them, folk festival, rowing my Grandpa’s ancient boat in the early morning, men in fur hats out for morning walks and licking the drips from ice cream sandwiches.

These ice cream sandwiches are a summer hit. Everyone that tries one, loves them. If you want to be the most popular person at the bar-b-q, bring these. They are so good I have even traded them for escargot.

Make a batch of Double Chocolate Cookies , wait for them to cool completely. Once they are cool, place a scoop of ice cream (or vanilla frozen yogurt, which is what I used… shhhh) on one half and sandwich with another. Immediately place on a cookie sheet in the freezer. Once they are set store in the freezer in an air tight container. I dare you to eat just one….

Enjoy xo

Since I am sitting here, reflecting on summer loves…  I would love to know, what do you love about these sunny months?

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ice Cream Sandwiches for the first day of summer

  1. Yay for summer… except that it’s chucking it down… Oh well. These look bloody delicious – so, SO decadent and delicious.

  2. trialsinfood says:

    these look perfect for the first day of summer!

  3. Summer is my favorite season. I can’t really think of anything I don’t like about it.

  4. Kate says:

    oh my goodness. Can i live at your house?

  5. Life & Sunshine says:

    these look AmAZinG!!

  6. Pingback: Ice Cream Sandwiches « A Vanilla Daydream

Leave a Reply

