Simple summer moments and peanut butter cookies

The sun is out. There is a breeze. I am sitting on my front porch watching people walk by with their dogs and play with their kids. My Mila is sleeping with her 7 legged spider named Harry under her chin (8th leg was lost in a rowdy game of tug-of-war) next to me. My house is clean. My laundry is done. My gardens are weeded. My dog is walked. My work out it done. My flowers are watered. My hair is washed. It is a perfect sort of front porch in the summer moment. I mean, if someone were to burst out in song and dance routine, I could be on a movie set. It is that sort of idyllic right now.

I am embracing this moment and sharing it with you now because I know it needs to be captured before it’s gone. I am not a Debbie Downer or anything, but if a certain mastiff walks by Mila is going to jump up to bark her greeting or if the 4 glasses of sparkling water I downed this morning catch up with my pint-sized bladder I will have to hit the loo… or if someone starts up a bobcat and proceeds to reverse with the beep beep beep safety signal blaring, it will be over… which is what has just happened. Ah well, it is still summer and it still a good place to sit and it is still a pleasure to be here.

To be here sharing the easiest and best PB Cookie recipe ever. It is so good that it made the cut for my husband’s birthday party dessert tray. It is so simple, I could make it today and it would be barely put a bump in my front porch moment. And it fits nicely into my check phrase… Because there is no butter or flour, I can have peanut butter.

Peanut Butter Cookies
From One Smart Cookie by Julie VanRosendaal

1 1/2 cups natural (unsweetened) peanut butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg white

Preheat the oven to 350F.
Mix all the ingredients together until smooth. Scoop out small balls of dough and roll them into balls. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet. With the back of a fork, press down on each ball slightly. Bake for 12 minutes, until a golden brown on the edges. If you want to add a little sparkle, as soon as they come out of the oven, sprinkle each cookie with a little sugar. Allow to cool slightly on the baking pan, for about 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy xo

This entry was posted in Cookies, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple summer moments and peanut butter cookies

  1. Jill says:

    Love simple and yummy cookie recipes!

  2. At least you have a summer… we just have rain… These cookies also sound amazing.

Leave a Reply

