Introducing the Potato Chip Cookie with Caramel

For me, a handful of chocolate chips headed for my mouth is a happy happy thought (I actually have to keep the bag high up, so I need a stool to reach them). A slice off a lemon cloud tart is like heaven. Home made twix bars barely make it into bar form before I dig in. And rhubarb cake is snack time perfected.

Salty foods just don’t do it for me in the same way. I have a friend who has never met a bag of salt n’ vinegar chips she didn’t want to devour. Pretzels are another one that the salties of the world can’t refuse. But me? A bag of chips can sit open in the cupboard for weeks and I won’t give it a second thought. Where as I know a certain saltie who throws the bag of chips in the trash before she can eat the entire thing… and perhaps employ the finger ‘lick and press’ to get include all the tiny pieces at the bottom in the feast.

That said though. I love my salt. I shake it on anything. I drag my fries through the excess salt on the plate so they pick up any stray granules. I think salted caramel is better than plain caramel. And the other day I had a salted hazelnut torte and was scraping the plate with the side of my fork to ensure I didn’t miss any of the salty sweet treasure.

So when I was flipping through a magazine and my eyes settled on this gem of a cookie recipe, I was in. It would appeal to both the sweets and the salties of the world, well, to the sweets and the salties of my world. I tweaked the recipe to reduce the butter by half and it did not suffer. It was a hit. A sweet n’ salty hit.

Potato Chip Cookies with Caramel
adapted from Martha Stewart

Cookies
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 Tbsp brown rice syrup
2 eggs
2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp kosher salt
2 1/2 cups salted potato chips, coarsely crushed* (I used kettle brand, one bag comes to this amount perfectly)
1 cup pecans, toasted and coarsely chopped

Preheat the oven to 375F.
Beat together the butter and sugars until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add the vanilla, eggs, and syrup and beat on medium until just combined. In a seperate bowl mix together flour, baking soda and salt. Add the flour mixture and beat on low until just combined. Add the chips and pecans and stir by hand until incorporated.
Roll dough into 1 1/2″ balls and place on parchment lined cookie sheet about 2″ apart. Press your thumb deeply into each cookie to create an indent.
Bake until golden, about 18-20 minutes. Allow the cookies to cool completely on the baking sheet.

Caramel
30 caramels, unwrapped
2 Tbsp whole milk
Maldon sea salt

Melt the caramels and the milk in a sauce pan over low heat, stirring frequently, until smooth. Allow to cool slightly before spooning caramel onto each cookie. Sprinkle with a little sea salt and allow to cool.

Enjoy xo

This entry was posted in Cookies, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

