I believe in… Peanut Butter Pie Cups

I collect clever insights, witty musings and sweet ideas on a pinterest board. I search for words that ring true to me. I am a little picky on words of advice, I shy away from many of the frequently quoted quotes and lean a little closer to ones I feel impact me the moment I read them…

“If you can’t feed a hundred people, then just feed one.” Mother Theresa

“Be pretty if you can, be witty if you must, but be gracious if it kills you.” Elsie de Wolfe

“Never love anyone who treats you like you are ordinary”

I also love words that whisper an idea that is a little open to interpretation…

“There once was a little girl
Who was a queen
Well she wasn’t really
But she believed it
And so she was”

“She left pieces of her life behind her everywhere she went.
It’s easier to feel the sun without them, she said”

And I really like some manifestos, like the one on the side of the lululemon bags, and especially the one Audrey starts with…

“I believe in pink…”

It was hers that got me thinking about what  my life policy is. I appreciate that if I had written this 10 years ago it would be different, if I write it again in 10 years it will be new, but for today, this is what I have come up with. I used hers as a template.

I believe in confections.
I believe that sweating
is the best calorie burner.
I believe the truest measure of character
is by those who work for you
I believe in sharing
sharing a lot, with people who can never pay you back.
I believe that sleep and kindness
can heal most wounds and
I believe in grace.

I am adding a bit of a footnote here as I also believe in naps, slippers, giggles, cuddling, dog walks, sharing meals, sweet nothing text messages, red wine, girl nights, pancakes for breakfast, having a great hairdresser and tailor, brushing and flossing, thank-you cards, and travelling to lands far far away.

Now, the recipe I have to share in this post doesn’t directly relate to what I have written here but it does fall rather nicely into the ‘sharing of meals’ belief-category. I made these for a potluck my husband had at the office with his co-workers. I made 22 of these (very last minute) along with a plate of sweet marie bars for him to share.

Peanut Butter Pie Cups
Adapted from My Baking Addiction
 Makes 22 dixie cups or 6 ramekins

16 Oreos
1 1/4 cups heavy cream
1 cup creamy natural peanut butter
8 oz 2% greek yogurt
1 cup confectioner’s sugar
1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Pulse the Oreos in a food processor until they are reduced to crumbs. Divide these evenly into each of your serving dishes. Set aside.
Whip the cream on high-speed until stiff peaks form, place in refrigerator.
In a large bowl beat the peanut butter and yogurt together on medium until smooth, about 2-3 minutes. Reduce the speed and add the sugar and beat until combined. Stop for a moment to add the condensed milk and vanilla. Return to beating on medium speed for about 1 minute or until smooth. Add most of the whipped cream (reserving enough to garnish each cup) and using a rubber spatula fold into the peanut butter mixture until fully combined. Divide the mixture evenly into each dish and place in the refrigerator for at least an hour to set (overnight is ideal). Garnish with the reserved cream and mini chocolate chips. You could also garnish with chopped peanuts, cookie crumbs, chocolate sauce or whatever else your heart desires.

Enjoy xo

This entry was posted in Peanut, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I believe in… Peanut Butter Pie Cups

  1. Victor says:

    Why you don’t put together a cookbook, I don’t know–even your pictures are amazing–and you know how many ccokbooks I have read–honestly I am beyond impressed

  2. Janet says:

    I am too!

    Mom

  3. Bff says:

    We were very lucky to be in the receiving end of some sweet marie bars. I ate a few, shared a few with colleagues and brought a few home for my boys. My little boy especially loved this treat and said “oh mommy, beff makes delicious treats!”. Thanks buddy.

Leave a Reply

